The research group

Principal Investigators

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Aland

  • Professor for Numerical Mathematics

Prof. Dr. Sören Bartels

  • Professor for Applied Mathematics and its Foundations

Dr. Elisabeth Fischer-Friedrich

  • Group leader: Mechanics of active biomaterials

Dr. Hanne Hardering

  • Research Associate at Institute of Numerical Mathematics

Prof. Balázs Kovács

  • Professor for Numerical Mathematics
  • Heisenberg Position

Prof. Dr. Stefan Neukamm

  • Professor for Applied Analysis
  • Vice-Speaker of the research unit

Dr. Simon Praetorius

  • Research Associate at Institut of Scientific Computing

Prof. Dr. Arnold Reusken

  • Professor for Numerical Mathematics

Dr. Marco Salvalaglio

  • Emmy Noether Group Leader: Mesoscale Material Modeling and Simulations

Prof. Dr. Oliver Sander

  • Professor for Numerics for Partial Differential Equations

Prof. Dr. Ivo Sbalzarini

  • Professor for Scientific Computing for Systems Biology

Prof. Dr. Axel Voigt

  • Professor for Scientific Computing and Applied Mathematics
  • Speaker of the research unit

External collaborators

  • Prof. Luiza Angheluta (University of Oslo)
  • Amin Doostmohammadi, PhD (University of Copenhagen, DK)
  • Prof. Marta Lewicka (University of Pittsburgh)
  • Prof. Chun Liu (Illinois Institute of Technology, US)
  • Prof. André Massing (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
  • Prof. Ricardo Nochetto (University of Maryland, US)
  • Prof. Maxim Olshanskii (University of Houston, US)
  • Paul Plucinsky, PhD (University of Minnesota, US)
  • Prof. Mario Putti (University of Padua)
  • Prof. Takashi Sakajo (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Dr. Guillaume Salbreux (The Francis Crick Institute, UK)
  • Prof. Julia Yeomans (Oxford University, UK)